USA

2001/02

about the travel

Travel across the US

In winter 2001/2002 I wanted to go to the South Seas for 3 months. I needed a break. The inner picture corresponded to a paradisiacal beach and many blank sheets of paper that would hopefully be filled with ideas for a new life plan.
After September 11, 2001, I realized that this was not the time to withdraw and focus on myself.
I decided to fly to the USA and travel from west to east, contrary to the classic route. On December 5th, 2001, I arrived in San Francisco and began to drive slowly and with various detours towards New York. By bus and train I got to Los Angeles and Monterey and Bandon to Seattle and the Olympic National Park. Via Chicago I went to Austin in Texas and from there via San Antonio to New Orleans. From there via Mobile, Alabama first to Boston and Concorde and finally to New York.
In three months I interviewed 22 people I came into contact with. University people, street vendors, homeless people, engineers, artists, street preachers, restaurant owners, travellers, a journalist, a railway worker, card readers, a silversmith, a Hare Krishna monk, …
I asked about the future and if people had hope. I asked them where and how they experienced 9/11 and whether anything had changed as a result.

From the interview with my last interview partner, the owner of a second hand record business in Manhattan, the radio piece robert emerged.
In addition, I recorded many field recordings on the journey. From the recordings in New York, the CD fragments of new york has been composed.

California and Oregon

Washington with Seattle, Hoh National Rain Forest and Mount St. Helens

Chicago

Texas

New Orleans and Mobile

Boston

New York

USA

2001/02

über die Reise

Reise durch die USA

Im Winter 2001/2002 wollte ich für 3 Monate in die Südsee. Das Verlangen nach einer Auszeit war groß. Das innere Bild entsprach einem paradiesischem Strand und vielen leeren Blättern Papier, die sich hoffentlich mit Ideen für eine neuen Lebensentwurf füllen würden.

Nach dem 11. September 2001 war mir klar, dass es nicht die Zeit ist sich zurück zu ziehen und sich ganz mit sich selbst zu beschäftigen.
Ich entschied mich dazu in die USA zu fliegen und entgegen der klassischen Route vom Westen nach Osten zu reisen. Am 5. Dezember 2001 landete ich in San Francisco und begann langsam und mit diversen Schlenkern gen New York zu fahren. Mit Bus und Bahn gelangte ich so über Los Angeles und Monterey sowie Bandon nach Seattle und in den Olympic National Parc. Über Chicago ging es nach Austin in Texas und von dort über San Antonio weiter nach New Orleans. Von dort über Mobile, Alabama erst nach Boston und Concorde und schließlich nach New York.

In den drei Monaten führte ich mit 22 Menschen, mit denen ich in Kontakt kam, Interviews. Universitätsangehörige, Straßenhändler, Obdachlose, Ingenieure, Künstler, Straßenprediger, Restaurantbesitzer, Reisende, einen Journalisten, einen Bahnangestellten, Kartenleser, eine Silberschmiedin, einen Hare Krishna Mönch, …
Ich fragte nach der Zukunft und ob die Menschen Hoffnung hätten. Ich fragte sie, wo und wie sie den 11. September erlebt hatten und ob sich dadurch etwas verändert habe.

Aus dem Interview mit meinem letzten Interviewpartner, dem Betreiber eines Second Hand Schallplattengeschäftes in Manhattan, entstand das Hörstück robert.
Zusätzlich nahm ich auf der Reise wieder viele field recordings auf. Aus den Aufnahmen in New York entstand die CD fragments of new york.

Kalifornien und Oregon

Washington mit Seattle, Hoh National Rain Forest und Mount St. Helens

Chicago

Texas

New Orleans und Mobile

Boston

New York